Belfountain Conservation Area
October 22, 2017
Close to the picturesque village of Belfountain, is this 8 ha site once belonged to Charles Mack, inventor of the cushion-back rubber stamp.
Mack and his wife Addie purchased the property in 1908, where he developed his version of a miniature Niagara Falls and Yellowstone Cave. Mr. Mack had a suspension bridge built downstream from the dam and created a fountain topped with a bell honouring the town. He also added stone walls, footpaths, scenic lookouts and a guesthouse. The couple lived in a small house deep in the park.